Excuses and banana bread

cout<<“Well, “;
cout<<“hello there.”<<endl;

It's certainly been a while. My only viable explanation is that I've been too busy living to write about it, but I know that's a pathetic excuse. The truth is it's been a big three and a half months: things have changed, I have changed, and while I'm hyped to tell you (almost (Unless you're me, you only get the abstract of the research that is my life.)) all about it I'll leave you with a recipe for banana bread (Since my independent, legal adult self is moving away next semester (that being one of the changes), I should probably (try to) learn how to cook (Cook in this case means burn things.).):

Banana bread!

Caution:
I tend to “ruin” American food by not adding as much sugar or spice to it as I “should.” Don’t be surprised if this is bland. Also, ovens are fun but dangerous; don’t burn yourself.

Materials:

  • 3 bananas you would no longer consider eating raw (I like my raw bananas greenish.)–just ripe enough to have brown spots
  • 2/3 cup chopped walnuts (or however much you have handy/can afford)
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs

Additional materials:

  • 1 oven
  • 1 8.5 by 4.5 loaf pan and aluminum foil OR glass oven-proof pan of the same size (preferred)
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 napkin
  • 1/2 fistfull of манка (манная крупа, semolina in English)
  • 1 spatula
  • 1 plate

Procedure:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 °F.
  2. Mix the sugar and the 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil in a large bowl.
  3. Add the eggs (sans shells) to the mixture.
  4. Mix the flour, salt, and baking soda in a separate bowl.
  5. Add the flour mixture to the sugar-vegetable oil-eggs mixture.
  6. Mash the bananas.
  7. Add the chopped walnuts and the mashed bananas to the mixture. Mix thoroughly until it is of a generally consistent texture.
  8. Spread the aluminum foil over the loaf pan if you’re not using the glass one. Cover the inside of the pan with the remaining 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil using the napkin. Sprinkle the манка over the inside of the pan, covering the surface the bread will be touching. (The vegetable oil will help it stick.)
  9. Pour the mixture into the pan. Place the pan in the oven.
  10. Remove the pan from the oven when a toothpick inserted into the bread comes out clean, after about 55 minutes. Turn off the oven.
  11. After ten minutes, scrape the bread from the pan (using the spatula) and put the bread on the plate.
  12. Eat.
~ by science cow on March 30, 2010.

2 Responses to “Excuses and banana bread”

  1. hi lyddie,
    i deflected from the institvte’s admissions page on to ur blog,& since i have just gotten free of my exams,went thru all ur blogs and i must admit they were a revelation,
    the one that really got me thinking was the one on spain.I just couldn’t believe there r ppl living such a relaxed life somewhere in this planet,while i continue to battle thru the intense competition and immense workload back in india,though i must admit in the same breadth that i kinda love it,& i better keep loving it since i have one more year left before i join college,
    on the whole loved your blogs,and I hope you keep blogging forever.

    • I’m sure there are stressed out people with overscheduled lives in Spain, too; I was just making broad generalizations with a small sample size. 😉

      But THANKS!!!! Your comment made my day. Hopefully I will keep blogging for a while. =)

Leave a Reply

 
