One week

It’s been one week since you looked at me, cocked your head to the side and said I’m angry.

Actually, it’s been one week since I started college (and one week since I last blogged), and that’s where the analogy to that Barenaked Ladies song ends. (But it was just enough to get it stuck in your head, wasn’t it?)

A lot has changed this past week. First, my hair shrank. Before class started I got my hair cut at Wal-Mart. (The stylists at Wal-Mart are actually very, very talented.) I brought in a photo of really short hair with bangs, but my stylist and I decided that I shouldn’t get bangs because it would look horrible. Halfway through my haircut she snipped off a big chunk of my hair and said that actually, I look good with bangs. So now I have bangs. The photo at the top of this blog should now have battalions of hair creeping into my eyes from above, because that’s what it feels (and looks) like. But I like short hair. It’s faster to wash, I don’t have to brush it, and I can towel-dry it without looking like Godzilla.

Apparently I look more professional with shorter hair. But maybe this is because after getting my hair cut at Wal-Mart, I went across the street to TJ Maxx and completely redid my wardrobe for the price of one pair of Abercrombie jeans. I have more self-confidence and fewer body-image crises, all without digging into food funds.

But maybe this is because apparently, I’ve also lost weight. Being on campus all day without a meal plan, I don’t have easy access to food (or any particular desire to spend money on food). I eat breakfast at home and lunch with my mom, and then when I get home (at any time between 16:00 and 23:00) I eat dinner if anyone feels like cooking it. I also walk a lot more, maybe because classes are several buildings (and not several feet, like in high school) away. My preferred mode of transportation seems to be walking, particularly since I’d rather walk for half an hour than pay a dollar for the bus ride home.

So it’s been one week since college started. I have shorter hair and I look more professional, I’m more obsessed than ever with saving money, and I’m slowly digging into that negative freshman 15.

~ by science cow on August 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
