School starts too early

I have trouble waking up in the morning. I guess realistically it’s because I go to bed at 2:30, but I like to pretend that my body (and the sleep gods) are following an evil plot to pull me permanently into Sleep World. This morning, for example, I woke up ten minutes before my first class without any idea of who I was, much less if I should have been in school five minutes ago. Since figuring any of this out would have taken a lot more effort, I just went back to sleep. Otherwise my mind likes to integrate my alarm clock into my dreams: “Oh, it’s okay, sample points always beep when they’re more than three standard deviations from the mean,” or “Never mind that beeping noise. It’s just the planaria regenerating its ganglia.” Some days I try to avoid this by setting a radio alarm, but this doesn’t work until a GEICO commercial comes on. Darn those awesome GEICO commercials.

~ by science cow on March 3, 2009.

7 Responses to “School starts too early”

  1. You know you could just put the alarm clock far away…

    • But what if I go turn off the alarm clock and then fall asleep again, on top of the alarm clock? 😛
      (I actually have fallen asleep on stairs, on heaters, and on top of my laptop.)

      MIT made an alarm clock that runs away…. I should buy one of those…. XD

    • Thanks for the comment by the way! =D

  2. Oi? This is about the latest I’m staying up, eheh. I just make my alarm clock sing, and then I shut it off and snooze without the snooze button. Of course that led to quite a few accidents of oversleeping, but believe it or not I haven’t missed the bus in the morning since middle school. Oh, I fall asleep on my desk all the time. And once on top of my panda…well, stuffed. 😛

  3. Great thing about college is you have a lot more choice about when school starts 😀

    • I’m definitely looking forward to that! Thanks for the comment. =)

      (omgomgomgOMG an actual MIT student commented on my blog! *hyperventilates*)

  4. There’s something kind of cool about sleepwalking through the first half of the school day. That makes it seem to be over before you know it. Too bad it’s hard to learn that way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
